In a fit of … I’m not entirely sure what…. I signed up for the locksmithing course through PCDI.

http://www.pcdi.ca/courses/3m/outline.html

It’s essentially the pre-employment course.

This is distinctly out of character for me.  Mechanical things and I do not always get along.  Basically though, I’m tired of working for peanuts.  I don’t have a particular passion for locksmithing, but it’s a skilled trade I think I could do, and I haven’t found a way to get any of my passions to pay the bills quite yet.  I need a funding source for all of our crazy project ideas! (not to mention things like mortgage, electricity & internet access)

Now I’ve finally bit the bullet and signed up, I’m all impatient for the lessons to get here so I can start working on it!  Probably not til next week at the earliest, unfortunately.  Perils of living in the middle of nowhere.

I’ll keep you updated as I work through it.  I anticipate a fair amount of beating my head against the wall, but I’m pretty sure I’ll be able to master it eventually.  Worst case scenario it counts as more college credit and may come in handy someday.  Best case scenario I discover I have a knack for it and go on to get my Red Seal and make a good living.

Poverty is only romantic in books.

